Join our club

Good morning! I’m feeling rather chirpy as Baby E decided to sleep through from 11:30 PM – 6:00 AM. Let’s hope it’s the start of a new sleep routine. (When I say chirpy, conscious is probably a better choice of word.)

This morning I decided to have another look into studio photography courses. Unfortunately, yet again I was disheartened by the hefty price tags or time commitments. Example: £400 for 5 hours of studio photography tuition. Or, thanks to the hike in university fees, around £6-8k per year for a BA,which I could never work around anyhow. Sadly that is beyond my means – realistically, if I had £400 I’d want to put it towards a new camera!

But then I stumbled across an old Flickr thread discussing courses in Manchester, where one person suggested looking into local camera clubs. Membership is cheap, they said; and they often have equipment that is available for practice use. Most also run various training events as well as competitions.

Hmm, I thought. I’d noticed a very dilapidated camera club sign on the front of my local memorial hall. But it was so ancient that I assumed it was something from days gone by. So I got googling. To my delight, I discovered that not only is my local camera club is alive and well, but they’re located a mere 10 minute walk from my house. They’re not in the building where the dilapidated sign is any longer though, but at another hall a few minutes away.

It’s been going since 1892 (!) and I can attend three meetings before committing to joining. Which is a whopping £25/year.

They’re meeting tonight as it happens, so once Baby E is tucked up in bed, I might see if I can check it out.

So there you go. Why not see if you have a camera club near you?

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Join our club

  1. butterytoast says:

    Professional training is always good but I also believe if you are passionate enough about something you can train yourself. Not a photographer, but chef Heston Blumenthal taught himself after being turned away from kitchens. Proof indeed that if we want something enough and put the hours in (baby permitting) we will pick up the necessary skills. Good luck with the club this evening!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

